J.J. Pearce High School Robotics Club

Productivity is never an accident. It is always the result of a commitment to excellence, intelligent planning, and focused effort.
-Paul J. Meyer


Our History

richardson-pearce-clearThe J.J. Pearce High School Robotics Club was founded in 1996. As a small startup robotics club, we began by participating in the BEST Robotics Competition. In 2004, we teamed up with Rockwall High School, Team 1296, to compete in the FIRST Robotics Competition. In 2006, there was enough student interest to form our own FRC team, and the P-51 Mustangs (Team 1745) was born. That year, we won Rookie All-Star at the Dallas Regional Competition. We participated in our last BEST competition in December of 2016, and now compete in FIRST Tech Challenge as an alternative. 


FIRST Accomplishments

  • 2006 Lone Star Regional Rookie All-Star
  • 2007 FRC Lone Star Regional Winner
  • 2009 FRC Dallas Regional Chairman’s Award
  • 2009 FRC Dallas Website Award
  • 2010 FRC Dallas Creativity Award
  • 2017 FRC Dallas Regional Finalist


Student Leadership (2017-2018)

  • President – Benny Reyna
  • Vice President – Alberto Hernandez Lopez 
  • Secretary – Dhruv Goel
  • Treasurer – Kyle Vaughn 

Past Student Leadership


Teacher Sponsors

  • Ken Clausing  (Primary Sponsor)


  • Stuart Rampy (Lead Mentor) – Systems Engineer
  • Robert Acosta (2006 Lone Star Regional Woodie Flowers Finalist Award) – IT Engineer
  • Adam Sidelsky – Electrical Engineer
  • Nathan Gray – Software Engineer
  • Kyle Cook – Automation Engineer
  • Ricky Marcus – Mechanical Engineer
  • Steve Levin – Mechanical Engineer